The Catholic University of America

 Graduate Program - Degree Offerings and Academic Areas

     The School of Theology and Religious Studies is broken down into seven Academic Areas, each offering a different variety of degrees.  These degrees are either Civil, Ecclesiastical, or Pastoral.  The school also offers a number of educational opportunities jointly with other programs and institutions.  To view the general requirements for each degree, please follow the appropriate link below.

Civil: M.A., Ph.D.

Ecclesiastical: S.T.B., S.T.L., S.T.D.

Pastoral: M.Div., D.Min., M.Cat.

Joint Degree: S.T.B./M.Div., MA - TRS & Library Sciences

Certificates: Christian-Muslim Relations

     Each Academic Area also has its own set of specific requirements for each degree in addition to the general requirements found above.  Please select the appropriate link below to go to the Academic Area's website where you can find general information on the program, a list of faculty in the area, and a list of degrees offered with specific requirements for each degree.

Biblical Studies


Church History

Historical and Systematic Theology

Liturgical Studies and Sacramental Theology

Moral Theology and Ethics

Pastoral Studies

Religion and Culture