The Catholic University of America

 The Johannes Quasten Award

For Excellence in Scholarship and Leadership in Religious Studies

Established in 1985 as the only academic award given by The Catholic University of America’s School of Theology and Religious Studies, the Quasten Medal is named after the Rev. Johannes Quasten, a professor of religious studies who taught at CUA for more than 30 years until his retirement in 1979. Quasten published more than 100 books and articles and is mostly known for his four-volume “Patrology,” a standard reference in the field of ancient church history and historical theology.

Congratulations to Our Newest Award Recipient:

Dr. Robert Wilken



“De Viris Illustribus: the Church Fathers, the Bible and Theology"

November 9, 2017 – Dr. Robert Wilken

Robert Louis Wilken is the William R. Kenan, Jr. emeritus professor of the history of Christianity at the University of Virginia. He is an elected fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, past president of the American Academy of Religion, the North American Patristics Society, and the Academy of Catholic Theology.

Wilken also serves as chairman of the board of the Institute on Religion and Public Life, the publisher of First Things. His most recent book is The First Thousand Years: A Global History of Christianity (Yale University Press). 

Among his other books are: The Spirit of Early Christian Thought: Seeking the Face of God; The Christians as the Romans Saw Them; and Remembering the Christian Past.

Wilken has taught at Fordham University, the University of Notre Dame, the Institutum Patristicum (Augustinianum) in Rome, the Gregorian University also in Rome, and Providence College.

Wilken and his wife, Carol, live in Washington, DC.



 Previous Recipients

Rev. Gerard S. Sloyan

E. Glenn Hinson

Rev. Louis Bouyer

Robert A. Markus

David Herlihy

Rev. Robert Taft

Hermann J. Pottmeyer

John T. Noonan

Rev. Joseph A. Fitzmyer

Gerald Bonner

David Tracy

Rev. Raymond E. Brown

Rev. Virgilio Elizondo

Rev. Berard Marthaler

Rev. John O’Malley

Rev. Lawrence G. Wrenn

Bernard McGinn

Rev. Cyprian Davis

Brian Tierney

Rev. John R. Donahue

Geoffrey Wainwright

Rev. Gerald O’Collins

Metropolitan Kallistors Ware

Rev. Jared Wicks

Rev. Jeremy Driscoll

Rev. Brian Daley

Cardinal Walter Kasper

Rev. Joseph Chinnici

Eamon Duffy