The Catholic University of America

CUA Faculty and alums participate in annual meeting of the North American Academy of Liturgy

Dr. Margaret Mary Kelleher, OSU, joined a panel of colleagues in reflecting on the life and ministry of the late world-renowned liturgical scholar Fr. Anscar Chupungco, OSB, in the light of the fifty years since the promulgation of the Constitution of the Sacred Liturgy and the fortieth meeting of the NAAL. Dr. Kelleher had served as colleague of Chupungco in the work of the International Commission on English in the Liturgy. Alumnus Fr. Don LaSalle, SMM, was elected Vice President of the NAAL. A number of faculty and alumni were present at the meeting in various roles. Faculty members present included Dean Mark Morozowicz, liturgy area director Rev. Dr. Dominic Serra, former Dean Msgr. Kevin Irwin, Dr. Margaret Schreiber, OP, and recently hired Rev. Dr. Stefanos Alexopoulos. Former faculty member Fr. Gerard Austin, OP,  was also present, along with some recent instructors at CUA, including Dr. Katharine Harmon and Fr. Daniel Merz. Alums present included Dr. Catherine Vincie, RSHM, Dr. Judith Kubicki, CSSF, Dr. Steven Wilbricht, CSC, Dr. Gabriel Pivarnik, OP, Dr. James Donohue, CR, Dr. Mark Wedig, OP, Dr. Patricia Parachini, SNJM, Dr. Janet Walton, SNJM, and Dr. Richard McCarron, who also edits the Proceedings of the NAAL. Current doctoral student Lisa Weaver was also in attendance as a first time visitor. Alumnus Fr. George Nursey was part of the local committee for the meeting and provided help in a variety of ways both before, during, and after the meeting.